top of page
Search
  • alexctelander

Chapter One: Why Alex Loves Books

Welcome to the first episode of the Bookbanter Podcast, and the blog post for this episode. You can listen to the first episode and the show here.


In Chapter One: Why Alex Loves Books, I talk about how I got into reading and some of the authors I got really hooked on. I mentioned the author that started it all for me was Willard Price, who wrote a series of adventure novels for kids. As I say in the episode, they're all called "something" adventure, and here's a photo of a couple hardcovers I've got:

The books came out in the 1950s and '60s, and while it's easy to get hold of paperback copies of the all the books these days, the hardcovers are naturally tricky to track down. Out of the fourteen books in the series, I've managed to acquire about ten or eleven of them. The last few ones, while I'm able to find copies, cost anywhere from $50-$100, so we'll have to see about.


In the episode I also talk about finding some of Price's nonfiction books at thrift store some years ago.



In one of the books there was an old article about the author and the book taped to the inside, which I thought was a special find.



And then I was completely shocked to discover that some of the books were autographed with a note to whoever was getting the books.




I also mention in the episode about finding a letter and a postcard in one of the Willard Price books. Here's the letter:




And here's the postcard from Mexico.




These are treasures I never could've imagined finding and they remain some of the most special items in my book collection.


In the next episode, I will be continuing on the point in my life, over ten years ago, when I began a new project called "Bookbanter" in Chapter Two: Why Alex Loves Reading, coming in a couple weeks.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page