top of page
Search
  • alexctelander

Chapter Two: Why Alex Loves Reading

In the second episode of Bookbanter I talk about kind of the second half of my book reviewing career, as I began an early podcast of the same name where I first read my book reviews and then ended up interviewing authors.


I'd had some experience playing around with audio editing after doing a number of recordings for Librivox. This is a really cool site where volunteers record audio version of out of copyright books and short stories of just about every genre, even in different languages. I did a number of Jules Verne recordings and even some Dickens. This is where I got comfortable with the free audio editing software, Audacity. So moving on to doing a podcast and doing some simple audio editing wasn't that much of a stretch for me.


I ended up doing over fifty interviews, both written and audio, as well as having all my book reviews listed on the Bookbanter site I put together, and all those reviews and interviews are still there. I would've actually just continued putting these posts up there, but have since lost my login in and haven't been able to get access to it anymore, and I think it's important with this being a similar but still completely new project, that I start it on a fresh site.


I mentioned one of the interviews I got to do was with bestselling author Mary Roach, and then got to introduce her at a book event, and she signed the poster board for her new book to me, which you can see here:



In getting to interview and meet a number of incredible authors, many of them my favorites, I've also amassed a significant "autographed" section in my book collection.


I've also done book reviews for two review sites in my time, firstly with BookLoons, who are still around, and with Sacramento Book Review, now City Book Review, who I started with in 2009 and continue to do book reviews for.


Finally, I've talked over the two introductory episodes of my original massive collection of books that has been whittled down over the years and is still substantial, so I thought I'd share a photo of our bookshelves and the literary wonderland my kid gets to sleep under every night:


Thanks for reading along, and in the next Bookbanter episode I'll be talking about the graphic novel series, Saga written by Brian K. Vaughan, and illustrated by Fiona Staples.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page